aquatic Facility Operator Training


September 21-22, 2020 (VIRTUAL)

AFO Virtual Course is a two day virtual training, with the exam being administered on the second day conducted by AFO instructors through scheduled live opportunities.

The virtual class and exam will be facilitated through NRPA's learning management system.

Course manuals will be sent to the address you enter on your registration 4 weeks prior to the start of the course. NRPA will contact you a week before the exam for registration instructions to access the course.

  • The exam is set up online and consist of 50 questions.
  • Candidates need to get at least 39 questions correct to pass (78%).
  • Candidates are given 3 hours to take the exam
  • Candidates must remain in front of their computer for the duration of the exam.

Register Here for September Course

Our citizens depend on aquatic facilities to improve quality of life, promote community and encourage wellness. National certification is a mark of distinction and signifies to the public that you are a serious professional in the field of aquatics and committed to providing the community with the highest level of service and professional excellence.

The Aquatic Facility Operator (AFO) program is designed for pool operators and management staff in aquatic facility operation and management


IPRA Member
Course & Exam - $295
Exam Only - $85

Non Member
Course & Exam - $375
Exam Only - $125

Exam only registrations do not include course manuals.


Day 1
Virtual Zoom Training

Day 2
Virtual Zoom Training


What is an AFO?

The NRPA AFO program is an advanced, state-of-the-art training program for persons managing and operating aquatic facilities. The AFO program is the leading training opportunity for pool operators and aquatic facility managers in the United States.

Who should attend?

Individuals wishing to become a Aquatic Facility Operator, aquatics directors, pool operators, recreation directors, waterpark directors, pool managers, aquatic supervisors, resort, hotel, & homeowner association staff, pool service industry professionals, any staff members responsible for the operation, maintenance, or management of an aquatic facility, anyone in need of knowledge in swimming pool operations.

Course Text

NRPA's Aquatic Facility Operator Manual is the most complete and comprehensive publication available on pool operations. Author Kent G. Williams has more than 25 years of professional experience in quatics management. The manual is included in the registration fee.


Upon successful completion of the AFO Course and exam, participants will be officially certified by the National Recreation and Park Association. This certification is valid for a period of five years from the completion date.

Message to Aquatic Facility Operators expiring on 6/30/2020

Due to the current challenging circumstances, NRPA and the National Certification Board will extend your Aquatic Facility Operator (AFO) certification expiration date by six months upon request, from 6/30/2020, to 12/31/2020. Certified professionals who request an extension will maintain a new certification cycle beginning and ending in December. If you would like to extend your expiration date, please contact NRPA Aquatics Program Manager Elizabeth Gonzales at