Awards of Excellence

2016 Awards of Excellence Winners

President's Award

Becky Barrick-Higgins
Bloomington Parks & Recreation

Leadership Awards

Distinguished Life Member
Bob Nickovich
Lake County Parks & Recreation

Outstanding Agency
Danville Parks & Recreation

Outstanding Professional
Micheal Metz
LaGrange County Parks & Recreation

Exceptional Young Professional
Ken Conklin
Clarksville Parks & Recreation

Corporate Partner of the Year
Indiana University Health Bloomington

Elected Official of the Year
Mayor Blair Milo
La Porte, IN

Distinguished Citizen
Mitch Feikes
La Porte Parks & Recreation

Gene Griffin
Vigo County Parks & Recreation

Project & Program Awards

Clark Ketchum Conservation Award
Hamilton County Parks & Recreation

Excellence in Resource Improvement
Ivy Tech Community College Recreation Annex
Noblesville Parks & Recreation

Inclusion Program of Excellence
Sensory Easter Egg Hunt
Washington Township Parks & Recreation

Innovative Program
MADE Movement
South Bend Venues, Parks & Arts

Nature First
Fishers Parks & Recreation

Creative Event
South Bend Venues, Parks & Arts

Exceptional Park Design
Cyntheanne Park Community Garden
Fishers Parks & Recreation

West Commons Playground
Carmel Clay Parks & Recreation

Exceptional Facility Design
Central Park Plaza Expansion
Valparaiso Parks & Recreation

Excellence in Landscape Design
Whiting Interpretive Signage & Cultural Walk
City of Whiting, IN & Context Design

West Lafayette Parks & Recreation

For Projects Completed August 1, 2015 – August 1, 2016

The Indiana Park & Recreation Association Annual Awards of Excellence recognizes agencies throughout Indiana that embody the vision, dedication and excellence in parks and recreation. These awards highlight the efforts that transcend everyday standards to make a difference and improve the quality of life in our Indiana communities. IPRA award winners include park and recreation professionals, organizations, agencies and volunteers.

Click here to view the criteria and guidelines for each award.